Going Home

 

I know my last post was about life getting back to ‘normal’ after a long and exciting summer, but summer’s not quite over yet. I still have two trips to take…

First, I’m going on a mystery trip to Scotland. The reason I call it a mystery trip, is because I’m going to meet a group of writers, I don’t really know. We will be discussing a joint venture, I know nothing about. I’m not even quite sure why I’m going, all I know is something in Scotland is beckoning. More to come on that…

I am also going on a trip to Dublin, with my husband, four of his old football (soccer) buddies and their wives. This trip is strictly for pleasure. More to come on this trip too…

What I can tell you about now, is my trip ‘home’ to New Jersey. I still call Jersey home because it’s where I come from, it’s where my family lives and where all my childhood friends are. No matter how long I’m gone it always feels familiar and I still sound like I belong there. Now you’re probably thinking… What?

I’m talking, or should I say, ‘tawking’ about my language and Jersey attitude. Living in a foreign country, talking ‘their’ language, with an accent and not having a clue how to joke around, mostly leaves me feeling like an outsider. Not the case in Jersey…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A few more reasons I like visiting Jersey in the summer are, warm weather, something you canNOT count on in Norway. Shopping, there is 0% tax on clothes in NJ and 22% on clothes in Norway. I could sit here all day telling you reasons I love the Garden State, but guess what?

Norway is my home now, it’s where my father, husband and two of my sons were born. I have three children and three grandchildren living there (two of my children and two grandchildren live in the US). I have friends that feel like family and my two pets, Khloe and Mia are there. The house my husband built and the home we built together are there. I feel safe in Norway and have soon lived there half of my life (six more years). I guess I have two homes…

What do you think, is home where you come from, or where you’ve gone?

 

About maggiemyklebust

I grew up on the Jersey Shore and now live in Norway. I have also lived in Houston and the Netherlands. I have written a memoir called Fly Away Home.

Posted on August 11, 2012, in all things American, all things Norsk, Family stuff, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. I always feel I have a foot in one country and a heart in the other wherever I happen to be.

  2. annie siersema potter

    home is where your heart is! it’s where you lay our head at night! you are so lucky to have your heart and lay your head in so many places! what a fun day we had! can’t wait to do it again next summer! enjoy! xoxo

  3. Hubby and I were just having this discussion after going “home” this past week. Our journey included my search for the many homes I’d lived in growing up. We didn’t finish this journey…as I moved a LOT as a kiddo….but the warm fuzzy feelings were not there for many of the places we stopped. So is that what home is? The place that gives you the warm and fuzzy feeling? and hugs your heart? Maybe….. I am so glad for your trip “home”.

    And how far is Dublin from you? My kiddos will fly back home from there on Tuesday….they have embraced every moment of their visit there! ♥

    One last thing….22% tax….seriously?!?!? Wow….no more fussing about 8.7! 🙂

  4. You are of course right and I guess both Norway and NJ give me that fuzzy feeling.

    Dublin isn’t far from here, just a skip over the North Sea about an hour and a half by plane.

    I’ll tell you why we pay 22% sales tax on everything -12% on food, and a lot of other taxes I won’t get into… Socialized Medicine!

  5. Hi Maggie,
    Since summer is the time many expats go ‘home’ for a visit, I think you’ve hit a fresh chord! I always feel that ‘at home’ is where ever you are ‘at peace’. Right now I’m at peace looking out over the lake at my husband’s family cottage in Ontario. I’m thinking about returning to our little villa in Thailand where I sit on our veranda, sipping coffee at sunrise, at peace with nature. And, I definitely feel at peace in my childhood home (where my mother still lives), sitting at the kitchen table doing the cross word puzzle together or regaling each other with stories of our lives or snuggling into one of the comfy chairs in the living room reading a good book. I too am lucky to have so many places I feel at peace! The downside is that I have to leave behind my beloved pet (Zorro the cat) when we do our summer travels.

    Cheers,
    Anne

    • Thank you for that lovely comment, I appreciate you taking the time to tell me about all the places in your life, you consider home…
      I guess we’re just living the typical life of an expat and should feel lucky, not lost. 🙂

  6. Jeannette Wynne

    I was able to visit one of my childhood homes in Kansas this past year. We only lived there 5 years, but it is still part of my “homes” history. I have yet to visit two in Minnesota and two in Oregon. We moved around a lot because my Dad was a minister. I’ve lived the longest on the central coast of California – 32 years now. It is my home, but my heart lies spread around this great country. It’s nice t have lots of “homes.”

  7. Ha ha! The shopping spree documented on film!

    I think home is where you are, as long as you make it a “home.” Know what I mean?

    Safe travels! Tip a pint for me while in Dublin.

  8. I used to live on a farm and we’re going back there for a visit next week. When I first left the farm I was really homesick, but now when I get back to the farm I’m homesick for the place I am living in now! My feeling of ‘Home’ is regularly changing 😉

  9. I used to live in N.J. many years ago. I left my home in South Florida and moved in with a frien of my mom with the intent to go to school. I stayed with her for almost a year, before deciding to return ‘home’.

  10. Mary VanDeventer

    OK..How did you get all that stuff you bought in NJ “home” Maggie??? LOL I always worry about that when I travel!!

  11. I’d have to say jersey is my home for the exact reasons u stated! i love going home tho i miss my house terribly. i can’t see ever calling florida “home”:(

  12. I think home is wherever you feel safe,and at peace – if you get that in more than one spot, you are extra lucky! Have a wonderful trip getting time in one of your homes! 🙂

  13. Very insightful! Wish that I had two homes.

  14. My man would say that home is wherever he is staying at the time. I guess it’s where the heart is. Earlier I posted about not knowing where was truly home for me – do you remember that? Last week in Glasgow it felt really good to be back, I think I’m ready to return now. 🙂

    I think it sounds like you have had/continue to have a great summer but you must be exhausted! Enjoy your next trips and stay safe – and don’t forget your camera! 🙂

  15. I moved 9 times before I turned 15 and I think home is where you make it. My touching stone is the lake in Minnesota and if I had to claim any single place, it would be there – I like to call it the lake of a Million Memories. – you might enjoy the post –

    The Lake of a Million Memories

    Welcome home x2! 🙂

    Cheers! Beth

  16. It was a truly beautiful post Beth, thank you for sharing!

  17. Where you are born is out of your control, but I believe the home you choose and/or make is truly the one that counts. Great post, Maggie.

  18. I was born in Passaic, NJ and my husband was born in Paterson but I only lived there for about 1.5 years when I was 7-8 yo. I grew up in Miami, Florida -which I feel nostalgic about every now and then. Yet, I have visited NJ a few times and I get a feeling of that being my “real” home – it’s a deep inexplicable feeling like that’s where my roots are. When NJ-ites talk I find myself tawking the same way they do. I even think people in NJ “look more like me” (this could be because my Dad’s side is Italian and there are a LOT of those in NJ. I came out West 33 years ago, lived in Nevada, California and now Arizona for the past 15 years. Your blog is very interesting and I’ve clicked “follow” so I can read more about your travels in Ireland, etc… 🙂

    • Its been years since I’ve lived in Jersey also, but once a jersey girl always a jersey girl 😉
      Sounds like you’ve done a lot of traveling yourself (around the US)
      Its a pleasure to meet you and thanks for the follow, I’ll stop by and visit you too…

Leave a comment